Oregon State University

Latest News

Applications Currently Being Accepted for Graduate Fellowships 2016

Chapter Deadline: March 29, 2016

Phi Kappa Phi awards annually six fellowships of $15,000 each and fifty-one fellowships of $5,000 each for post-graduate study at accredited institutions of higher learning. The OSU nominee receives a one-year active membership in Phi Kappa Phi and a $1000 fellowship award. Visit http://www.phikappaphi.org/grants-awards/fellowship#.VoglLMArIb0 for eligibility requirements and to download the application materials and instructions. Email your completed application to OSU PKP Graduate Fellowship committee chair Dr. Bill Bogley at Bill.Bogley@oregonstate.edu. Your completed application must be received no later than March 29 in order to be considered for nomination by the OSU Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship committee. Applicants will be notified of their nomination status by April 15. Awardees will receive notification from the national Phi Kappa Phi organization by June 15, 2016.


Congratulations to Love of Learning Award Recipient, Olivia Lindly

The OSU Chapter of the Honor Society of PKP would like to congratulate Olivia Lindly, one of Oregon State’s Love of Learning award recipients. 

These PKP awards help fund post-baccalaureate studies and career development opportunities including graduate or professional studies, doctoral dissertations, continuing education, and travel related to teaching or studies. Congratulations to, Olivia, a Ph.D. candidate in Health Promotion and Health Behavior.  The Love of Learning award is open to all active (dues current) members who have completed their baccalaureate studies.

Tunison Award Application 2016-2017

In 1969 the OSU Chapter of PKP began awarding a series of annual scholarships of $500 each, one for an outstanding high school student entering Oregon State as a freshman and one for an outstanding junior to assist in completing the senior year at Oregon State. Over the years these increased to three junior scholarship awards. In 1988 the chapter officers voted to eliminate the scholarship for the incoming freshman and add a fourth junior scholarship. Because of constantly increasing tuition, the 1988 Scholarship Committee recommended increasing the amount of the awards even if it meant decreasing the number of recipients. Thus, in 1989 the amount was increased to $1,000, and the number of scholarships reduced to two. In 1996 the scholarship amount was again increased, this time to $1,500, and the scholarships were renamed the Tunison Scholarships. These scholarships are supported by the interest from the Phi Kappa Phi–Tunison Endowment and members’ contributions to the fund.

All Junior and Senior Phi Kappa Phi initiates, with at least one to three additional quarters to complete at OSU, are invited to apply. The scholarships are to be used for senior year tuition at OSU. The primary criterion for selection of recipients is scholarly achievement.

1)   These scholarships are awarded only to individuals who are eligible for, and accept membership into, The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at the time the award is made; and
2)   the scholarship funds will be applied toward the awardee's OSU tuition bill

Download the application form: Tunison application (MS Word format)

For questions, contact Dr. Susie Brubaker-Cole.

Complete both pages of the application form and return the complete, printed form to the following address or by email to Dr. Susie Brubaker-Cole:

OSU PKP Fellowships and Awards Committee
c/o Susie Brubaker-Cole
Vice Provost for Student Affairs
632 Kerr Administration Building
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR  97331

2014 PKP Winners

Congratulations to the students and faculty recognized by Phi Kappa Phi for the 2013-2014 school year. Their names are listed below. Click on the links for further information on each award.  

Emerging Scholar Award

Paul Cheong Ha-Yeon (College of Science)

Jonathon Hurst (College of Engineering) 

First Year Writing Award 

Chris Denning (College of Engineering)

Graduate Fellowship

Cassandra Loren (College of Engineering)

Tunison Scholarship 

Kacy Kesecker (College of Liberal Arts)

Cody Manriquez (College of Science)

Ashley Paige (College of Education)

Amy Walters (College of Public Health and Human Sciences)