CONGRATULATIONS to the Phi Kappa Phi award winners listed below.

Emerging Scholar Award

The OSU chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi has established the Emerging Scholar Faculty Award in order to recognize non-tenured faculty (including professional faculty) for outstanding research or creative activity in his or her field of study. This award is open to faculty in the early stages of their professional careers. The award consists of a plaque and first year membership dues to both the local OSU Chapter and the National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

The award is open to all non-tenured faculty (including professional faculty) from all academic units within OSU (all campuses). Faculty need not be members of Phi Kappa Phi at the time of nomination. Nominees must be non-tenured faculty holding a tenure-track/professional appointment at the rank of assistant professor/equivalent. A majority of the work being evaluated must have been accomplished at OSU. Nominations are solicited from members of the OSU chapter during fall quarters. The winner also receives a plaque when inducted into membership at the Initiation Banquet held in the winter quarter.

Nomination packets (20 pages or less and less than 10MB in a single pdf file format) are confidential and should include in the following order:

- A nominating letter of not more than 2 pages (include mention of a fundamental contribution that best identifies the candidate’s emergence as a - scholar in their field).
- A position description including percent (%) responsibilities.
 -A curriculum vita documenting actions in the areas of the position description.
- Two supporting letters of recommendation.

Application submission deadline March 1, 2020

SUBMIT the application material to 

For further information email:

The OSU Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi Fellowships and Awards Committee reviews nominations and selects recipients. Awards are presented at the Phi Kappa Phi Initiation Banquet to be held on April 7, 2020, 6-8pm in the Alumni Center. Recipients who are not current members of Phi Kappa Phi are inducted into the organization that same evening. Questions about the award may be addressed to Dr. Michael Wing, chair, of teh Emerging Scholar Award Committee, at the above email.

Recipient Date Awarded
Thompson, Karen D. February 2018
Megraw, Molly February 2017
Sikora, Aleksandra February 2016
McKnight-Nichols, Christopher May 2015
Fang, Chong May 2015
Ha-Yeon Cheong, Paul May 2014
Hurst, Jonathan May 2014
Jaiswal, Pankaj May 2013
Betts, Matt May 2012
Chang, Jeff May 2012
Roe, Shawn May 2011
Mockler, Todd C. May 2009
Davis, Loren May 2009
Hailemariam, Temesgen May 2009
MacTavish, Katherine May 2008
Li, Kaichang May 2002
Ocamb, Cynthia May 2002
Proteau, Philip J. May 2001
Cebra, Christopher May 2001

First Year Writing Award

The First Year Writing Award was established by the Oregon State Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi to recognize first year students who write outstanding essays in their English Composition (WR121) courses. Students in WR121 write three main papers each term with specific criteria for each paper. Outstanding essays are nominated by the instructors in WR121 from nearly 6,000 essays written each year. The criteria used to judge the essays are excellence in quality of thought, organization and coherence, style and technique. The award is co-sponsored by the School of Writing, Literature, and Film.

Recipient Date Awarded
Grover, Chloe February 2018
Andreyka, Ellie February 2017
Stember, Samantha February 2016
Briggs, Hunter May 2015
Denning, Chris May 2014
Lippincott, Keith May 2013
Johnson, Brayden May 2012
Ho, Stanley Jin Yu May 2011
Daly, Gavin May 2009
McVay, Eric Stephen May 2008
Field, Megan May 2001
Kinney, Patrick May 2001

Postdoctoral Award

At OSU we recognize that Postdoctoral Scientists are an important part of our research and training program. Many of them lead their own or supported research programs and also mentor a large number of our graduate and undergraduate students involved in research. Starting 2018, we will recognize and honor them by inviting and awarding two membership initiations to Postdoctoral Scientists that includes Research Associates. The award committee organized by OSU’s Graduate School forwards the nominations. The award includes first year PKP membership dues, a certificate and the PKP Pin. 

Recipient Date Awarded
Demers-Mathieu, Veronique February 2018
Jackson, Rebecca February 2018